Two Irish authors in the running for this year’s Booker Prize

Irish authors Audrey Magee and Claire Keegan have been named to the long list for this year’s Booker Prize.

t 116 pages, Claire Keegan’s little things like this is the shortest book recognized in the history of the prize. The shortest novel that won the award was Offshore by Penelope Fitzgerald (1979) on 132 pages.


Little Things Like This by Claire Keegan

Ms. Keegan grew up on a farm in Co Wicklow and at the age of 17 traveled to New Orleans where she studied English and Political Science at Loyola University.

In 1992 she returned to Ireland and her highly acclaimed first volume of short stories – Antarctic – was released in 1999. her first novel Support financiallywon the 2009 Davy Byrnes Irish Writing Award and was named by The Times as one of the 50 Greatest Novels of the 21st Century.

little things like this has been described as “both a celebration of compassion and a severe rebuke of sins committed in the name of religion.”

Set in 1985 in an Irish town in the weeks leading up to Christmas, the novel tells the story of Bill Furlong, a coal and timber merchant who is facing his busiest time.


The Colony of Audrey Magee

Wicklow native Audrey Magee was nominated for her novel. The colony, It describes the experiences of two men from France and England who travel to an island off the west coast of Ireland to “capture the truth of this place – one in his pictures, the other in his faithful rendition of his language, the language he hopes to be.” maintain”.

However, the people of the island have their own views on what is being recorded.

For twelve years, Audrey Magee worked as a journalist for the irish times, the observer and the Guardian. her first novel The enterprise, was shortlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction, the French PRIX du Premier Roman and the Irish Book Awards. It was also nominated for the Dublin Literary Award and the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction.

video of the day

This year’s Booker Prize selection was made from 169 novels published between October 1, 2021 and September 30, 2022 and submitted by publishers for the prize.

The long list includes the youngest and oldest authors ever recorded, 20-year-old Leila Mottley and 80-year-old Alan Garner, who will celebrate his 88th birthday on the night of the awards ceremony.

Three debut novelists Maddie Mortimer, Leila Mottley and Selby Wynn Schwartz made the list, while previously shortlisted authors NoViolet Bulawayo, Karen Joy Fowler and Graeme Macrae Burnet, and previously long-listed Elizabeth Strout are also recognized.

2022 Jury Chair Neil McGregor said: “The list features stories, fable and parable, fantasy, mystery, meditation and thriller.

“The skill with which authors shape and maintain these differently imagined worlds and allow others to inhabit them was our main criterion for proposing this long list of 13 books. Exceptionally well written and carefully crafted, whatever the genre, they seem to us to leverage and expand on what the language is capable of. The list we have chosen offers history, fable and parable, fantasy, mystery, meditation and thriller.”

The Booker Prize is open to works by writers of any nationality, written in English and published in the UK or Ireland.

The long list 2022 consists of:

  • NoViolet Bulawayo (Zimbabwe) glory
  • Hernan Diaz (American) trust
  • Percival Everett (American) The trees
  • Karen Joy Fowler (American) stall
  • Alan Garner (British) Syrup Walker
  • Shehan Karunatilaka (Sri Lankan) The Seven Moons by Maali Almeida
  • Claire Keegan (Irish) little things like this
  • Graeme Macrae Burnett (British) case study
  • Audrey Magee (Irish) The colony
  • Maddie Mortimer (British) Maps of our spectacular bodies
  • Leila Mottley (American) night crawl
  • Selby Wynn Schwartz (American) After Sappho
  • Elizabeth Strout (American) Oh William! Two Irish authors in the running for this year’s Booker Prize

Fry Electronics Team

Fry is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button