Technology

Warning MILLIONS of WhatsApp users to change privacy settings today – act now

WHATSAPP users are prompted to enable an important new setting.

It could help keep your account private — and you might not even know it’s an option.

WhatsApp users are prompted to enable an important new setting

1

WhatsApp users are prompted to enable an important new settingCredit: Alamy

With WhatsApp you can see if your contacts are online and when they were last seen.

While disabling read receipts is a commonly used privacy setting, many people may not know that they can take it a step further.

You can turn off your “Last Seen” preference with the press of a button – and it’s easier than you might think.

above tick tock Tech Star @tatechtips has detailed how to turn the feature on for its viewers — and earned 128,000 likes on the apartment.

Fans are excited about NEW iPhone photo tricks - how to use them
Warning for MILLIONS of WhatsApp users to change settings today - don't wait

How to turn off the Last Seen feature

How to turn off WhatsApp’s last seen feature.

Open your app on mobile, then go to Settings > Account > Privacy.

Look for the Last Seen option.

Most read in The Irish Sun

Then three choices will appear: All, My Contacts and Nobody.

If you press “Nobody”, nobody will know if you are currently on WhatsApp – and when you were last there.

The Sun Online tech and science team previously told you how to send WhatsApp disappearance messages.

These are texts that automatically self-destruct after a certain amount of time.

Open your app on mobile, then go to Settings > Account > Privacy.

Check for missing messages, and then slide the switch to the on position.

Then select a time period for messages to disappear – 24 hours, 7 days or 90 days.

A message will appear in chat confirming that message disappearance has been enabled.

To enable it for an existing chat, you must first archive and then unarchive it.

You can also enable message disappearance for specific chats by tapping on a WhatsApp contact’s individual settings.

The system is of course not foolproof.

If someone takes screenshots or records your chat, there is no way to remove that content from their phone using an official WhatsApp feature.

As always, the best way to keep embarrassing or regrettable content off the internet is to not post it in the first place.

But if you’re particularly concerned, using Disappearing Messages is a great system.

Remember: only SMS sent after you enable Disappearing Messages will be deleted. It will not go back in time and erase old letters for you.

The best tips and hacks for phones and gadgets

blank

Looking for tips and hacks for your phone? Want to find these secret features in social media apps? We’ve got you covered…

Get the latest news about WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook and other tech gadgets here.


We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science Team? Email us at tech@the-sun.co.uk


https://www.thesun.ie/tech/9002883/warning-millions-whatsapp-privacy-settings-today-now/ Warning MILLIONS of WhatsApp users to change privacy settings today – act now

Fry Electronics Team

Fry Electronics.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@fry-electronics.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button