Warning to ALL Facebook users to change their settings today – don’t wait

IF YOU’RE CONCERNED about your Facebook account falling into the wrong hands, there are a few simple ways to protect it.

There are three changes in particular you can make to secure the app and protect your privacy.

You can secure your Facebook account in many different ways

1

You can secure your Facebook account in many different waysCredit: Facebook

Receive notifications about unrecognized logins and add two factors

Go to Settings and then look for the Security section.

Then go to Receive notifications about unrecognized logins.

Facebook warns you when someone logs in from a device or browser you don’t normally use.

A huge Facebook feature has been BLOCKED - did you notice it's gone?
Facebook pays $397 to 1 MILLION people over disturbing data breaches

Then you can check your account and log out all suspicious app sessions.

You can see who is logging in, where and on what device.

So if you don’t see something, remove the session from your account – and shut out potential intruders.

If someone has been able to access your account, you should change your password as a priority.

And add two-factor authentication to verify all logins with a text message for even more security.

Remember: someone accessing your Facebook account can prove very costly.

They could collect significant amounts of information that could be used to hack other accounts.

Or they could impersonate you in order to defraud your immediate family and possibly flush the common coffers.

They could even snoop on your private messages and possibly blackmail or blackmail you or your loved ones.

Disable Facebook location history

Location history is a controversial daily log of where you’ve been logged by Facebook’s iOS and Android apps.

The data is stored on a digital map, which you can view via your Facebook settings.

It shows which shops and other businesses you’ve visited according to Facebook, as well as periods when you’re thought to have been “out and about.”

Your location history is buried deep in your settings. You can access it through Facebook’s Android or iOS apps, or through your desktop browser.

The setting can be turned off through Facebook’s website and apps, and you have the option to delete your location history if you wish.

Among other things, Facebook uses your GPS coordinates to better customize the ads it shows you.

Location history is being deleted from Facebook as part of a privacy overhaul, but you can still view your history until August 1, 2022.

  1. Open the Facebook app and tap the icon at the bottom right
  2. Beat settings and privacy, then tap settings.
  3. Under your informationbeat Access your information.
  4. Beat Logged Information.
  5. Under locationbeat site history. You may be prompted to re-enter your password.

You can turn your location history on or off by tapping the blue slider. You can also clear your history.

use encryption

If you use Facebook Messenger, you can turn on encryption to increase your security.

Encryption is a way to make messages more private.

Every encrypted message is muddled in transit – and only the sender and recipient have the keys to decrypt it.

Even Facebook cannot read an encrypted Messenger text.

I'm size XL and my girlfriend is size XS - we've tried on loads of Zara clothes
My neighbors put up a 6 foot fence to prevent my son from playing in the yard

You can even encrypt voice or video calls in Messenger for even more security.

Just go into the settings of a specific Messenger conversation to enable encryption.

  • Read the latest phone and gadget news
  • Stay up to date on Apple stories
  • Get the latest on Facebook, WhatsApp and Instagram

The best tips and hacks for phones and gadgets

blank

Looking for tips and hacks for your phone? Want to find these secret features in social media apps? We’ve got you covered…

Get the latest news about WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook and other tech gadgets here.


We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science Team? Email us at tech@the-sun.co.uk


https://www.thesun.ie/tech/9025394/warning-facebook-users-change-settings-dont-wait/ Warning to ALL Facebook users to change their settings today – don’t wait

Fry Electronics Team

Fry Electronics.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@fry-electronics.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button