Technology

Watch astronomers unveil a ‘groundbreaking discovery’ of the Milky Way

This morning, a collaboration of scientists with the Event Horizon Telescope initiative will unveil a “groundbreaking discovery” about our Milky Way. The team has shared few details about its announcement, but the mysterious news will be streamed live at 9:00 a.m. ET.

You may remember the Event Horizon Telescope team from 2019, when the group unveiled the first-ever image of a black hole’s shadow. At the time, the team showed an image of a supermassive black hole at the center of a galaxy called Messier 87, or M87. It was a massive undertaking that spent a week in April 2017 observing the black hole using eight radio telescopes stationed in Chile, Hawaii, Antarctica and elsewhere, and then piecing that data together with supercomputers.

It seems possible that the group could unveil another spectacular image of a black hole, but this time they would show one in our own galaxy. During the April 2017 observing run, the EHT team also observed the supermassive black hole at the center of the Milky Way, dubbed Sagittarius A* or Sgr A*. However, the scientists admitted that the black hole’s size and the interference between the Earth and the object made it more difficult to piece this image together. Perhaps the team has managed to overcome these processing problems five years later.

It is also possible that the EHT team reveals something completely different. Little information was provided in advance, other than that the results represent some kind of “breakthrough”. We’ll all find out together soon.

When does the EHT live stream start?

The EHT live stream begins at 9 a.m. ET.

Planned time: New York: 9:00 am / San Francisco: 6:00 am / London: 2:00 pm / Berlin: 3:00 pm / Moscow: 4:00 pm / New Delhi: 6:30 pm / Beijing: 9:00 pm / Tokyo: 10:00 p.m. / Melbourne: 11:00 p.m

Where can I see the announcement?

The announcement will be streamed live on the website of the National Science Foundation, which helps fund research facilities used by the EHT. The announcement will also be streamed live on YouTube and Facebook.

https://www.theverge.com/2022/5/12/23067025/black-hole-horizon-telescope-milky-way-discovery-watch-live Watch astronomers unveil a ‘groundbreaking discovery’ of the Milky Way

Fry Electronics Team

Fry Electronics.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@fry-electronics.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button