What does “last seen” mean on WhatsApp?

WHATSAPP is one of the most popular messaging apps worldwide.

Whether you are an avid Samsung user or an iPhone warrior, WhatsApp is universal and easy to use across different brands of phones.

Whatsapp is changing privacy settings so there are more options over who can see when they're online.

1

Whatsapp is changing privacy settings so there are more options over who can see when they’re online.Photo credit: AFP

What does “last seen” mean on WhatsApp?

Gone are the days when you could see a message pop up and ignore it without the person knowing you were on the app.

Simply put, Last Seen is the messaging app’s way of letting you know the last time someone was actively using its service.

With this feature, you can see when your WhatsApp contacts last used the app or if they are currently online.

Privacy settings give users the ability to control who can see their last seen and online times.

When you are in a one-to-one conversation with someone on Whatsapp, you may see a Last Seen message and a time under their name.

If they’ve opened the app within the last 24 hours, you’ll see the exact time they used the app, or a date if they haven’t used Whatsapp in that time.

Warning to millions of WhatsApp users - muting contacts is changing forever
Alert to millions of WhatsApp users - group chats are changing forever

Whatsapp also lets you know when someone texts you and when they are online.

The company has said in its FAQ that people may find that they can’t see a contact’s last seen contacts, which could be for one of the following reasons:

  • They may have set their privacy settings to hide this information
  • You may have set your privacy settings to not show your last seen. If you don’t share yours, you won’t be able to see each other’s
  • You may have been blocked
  • You may have never chatted with them
  • They may not have saved you as a contact

How to disable Last Seen

If this update fills you with fear, fear not! Back in August 2022, Meta, which now owns WhatsApp, announced three more privacy-focused features they would be adding to the service.

One of the changes is that users can now select specific people from their contact list who can see when they were “last seen”.

To turn off your last seen messages, you can go into your settings in Whatsapp.

  • Android: Tap More options > Settings > Privacy
  • iPhone: Tap the settings icon in the lower right corner > Account > Privacy
  • writing desk: Click Menu > Settings > Privacy

Once you are in your privacy settings, you should see “Last Seen and Online”.

I'm A Celeb fans slam show as favorite stars'disappear'
Woman slams boyfriend for boarding flight without her - but people are divided

After selecting this option, your screen will show you the various options of who can see your Last Seen status – including Nobody.

Depending on your selection, you can customize your settings so that only your selected contacts see when you last used the app, or no one can.

https://www.thesun.ie/tech/9716243/whatsapp-last-seen/ What does “last seen” mean on WhatsApp?

Fry Electronics Team

Fry Electronics.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@fry-electronics.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button