A WHATSAPP trick means your messages can be read even if you DELETE them.
Messaging app users should be aware that their embarrassing messages may not be permanently deleted as they thought.
Whatsapp allows people to delete sent messages – which can come in handy if you make a mistake while chatting with friends or family.
Messages can be removed from both individual and group chats and the feature is available for Android, iOS and Windows phones.
It comes with the caveat of letting recipients know you’ve pressed the shutter button over a note that reads, “This message has been deleted.”
It’s not as permanent as it seems, however – as the message is stored on the recipient’s phone and can be uncovered using WhatsApp’s backup feature.
The sneaky trick is easy to perform and means your message faux pas are visible even if you delete them.
To read a deleted message, WhatsApp just needs to be uninstalled and then reinstalled from your device’s app store.
Once they log back in, they have the option to restore chats from backup.
Just select the restore option and the chats will be restored including deleted messages appearing as if they were never removed.
It comes as WhatsApp users are being asked to enable an important new setting.
earlier this year, Whatsapp added a new feature called Disappearing Messages.
These are texts that automatically self-destruct after a certain amount of time.
And earlier this month, the app released a new clever voice memo trick.
Previously it was only possible to listen to a voice message within a chat.
And if you leave this chat, the voice message will stop playing.
Now WhatsApp has optimized it so that voice playback is universal.
So if you’re listening to a voice message in a conversation, you can leave that chat and talk to someone else.
https://www.thesun.ie/tech/9006087/whatsapp-warning-messages-read-deleted/ WhatsApp alert trick means your messages can be read even if they are DELETED