Technology

WhatsApp alerts millions about BIG changes in keeping your texts

A HUGE WhatsApp update means some of your texts may now auto-delete.

You may notice that after a period of time, some chats start to empty themselves.

Some WhatsApp texts are no longer persistent

1

Some WhatsApp texts are no longer persistentCredit: WhatsApp

This comes with a new privacy feature – so don’t panic.

For years, WhatsApp messages were permanent: even if you deleted them, everyone else could still see them.

Then WhatsApp allowed you to “unsend” SMS within a certain period of time – and delete them for you and all recipients.

Last but not least, earlier this year WhatsApp introduced a new feature that automatically “unsent” messages.

All WhatsApp users are urged to change the setting TODAY to block your texts
WhatsApp alert trick means your messages can be read even if they are DELETED

This is important because it means some texts sent to you will not be preserved.

And if you activate it, your own texts will also disappear.

It is an important privacy feature that you should enable.

And if you don’t enable it, note that texts sent to you can still be “unsent”.

How to send WhatsApp disappearance messages

So how can you enable WhatsApp disappearance messages today?

Open your app on mobile, then go to Settings > Account > Privacy.

Check for missing messages, and then slide the switch to the on position.

Then select a time period for messages to disappear – 24 hours, 7 days or 90 days.

A message will appear in chat confirming that message disappearance has been enabled.

To enable it for an existing chat, you must first archive and then unarchive it.

You can also enable message disappearance for specific chats by tapping on a WhatsApp contact’s individual settings.

Warning about disappearing texts

The system is of course not foolproof.

If someone takes screenshots or records your chat, there is no way to remove that content from their phone using an official WhatsApp feature.

As always, the best way to keep embarrassing or regrettable content off the internet is to not post it in the first place.

But if you’re particularly concerned, using Disappearing Messages is a great system.

Remember: only SMS sent after you enable Disappearing Messages will be deleted. It will not go back in time and erase old letters for you.

Texts are also not deleted in other chats to which they were forwarded.

And disappearing messages are still stored in a recipient’s backup – but deleted when that user restores from the backup.

Quoting messages can also cause text to remain in a chat even though the original message has been deleted.

If you want to try new WhatsApp features first, consider joining the beta using our guide below.

How to get WhatsApp beta

To download WhatsApp Beta for your smartphone you have to go Google Play on yours Android and search for whatsapp.

Scroll down the page until you see “Become a Beta Tester”.

Tap the “I’m in” button, then tap “Join” to confirm.

Now all you have to do is wait for the update to the beta version of the app.

Join the WhatsApp beta iOS to the iPhone is more difficult and has a limited capacity.

Follow Apple’s instructions here.

  • Read the latest phone and gadget news
  • Stay up to date on Apple stories
  • Get the latest on Facebook, WhatsApp and Instagram

The best tips and hacks for phones and gadgets

blank

Looking for tips and hacks for your phone? Want to find these secret features in social media apps? We’ve got you covered…

Get the latest news about WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook and other tech gadgets here.


We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science Team? Email us at tech@the-sun.co.uk


https://www.thesun.ie/tech/9009248/whatsapp-disappearing-texts-vanishing-messages-unsend-how/ WhatsApp alerts millions about BIG changes in keeping your texts

Fry Electronics Team

Fry Electronics.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@fry-electronics.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button