Which non-European countries use Eurovision and why are they allowed?

The Eurovision Song Contest has 40 countries participating in 2022, with Australia once again among them. The show has a long history of participating non-European nations with even a new Canadian spin-off set for 2023.

The official ceremony of transferring Major Rotterdam to Major Turin from Eurovision Song Contest Turin 2022, the first official step
Five non-European countries participated in Eurovision

Although it is called the Eurovision Song Contest, it is really open to any country in the world.

However, this is subject to a condition and many countries do not conform to this requirement.

Over the years, many non-European countries have joined the quintessential European music program, including four in 2022.

Tunisia and Lebanon attempted to enter before being eliminated from the competition prior to the show.

China wanted to participate in 2015 but the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) turned them down as a guest or participant in 2016.

Below is a breakdown of how countries could participate, and how non-European countries did.

Follow all the news and gossip from Eurovision on Mirror’s live blog

How non-European countries can participate in Eurovision

Graham Norton will comment on the UK contest again



To participate, a country must have a broadcaster operating in Europe as part of the EBU.

The broadcaster then selects their performers through a national selection process, television, or through an internal selection process.

The country then decides to send their number one star or best new talent and lock them in in mid-March.

Traditionally, there are also the ‘Big 5’ and the host country, all with a guaranteed spot in the final.

These five countries are France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the United Kingdom.


In 1973, Israel entered the competition with the song Ey Sham, which was translated into Somewhere from Hebrew.

Sung of Ilanit, it ranked 4th out of 17 places and scored a total of 97 points.

Israel returns in 2022 with Michael Ben David’s IM.

David won Israel’s X Factor and was expected to score well throughout the competition.


Many people may think of Cyprus as a European country, but geographically, the island of Cyprus is actually in the Middle East.

It joined the Eurovision party in 1981 with the song Monika by Island and came in sixth place with 69 points.

Since then, the whole country has participated 38 times, only missing in 1988, 2001 and 2014.

In 2022, Cyprus will be represented by Ela singing Andromache.


Armenia joined Eurovision in 2006 with the song Without Your Love, performed by André.

André ranked eighth out of 24 finalists with 129 points.

Armenia returns to competition after withdrawing from Eurovision in 2021.

Rosa Linn will represent the country with the song Snap.


Morocco had only been on the show for a year in 1980.

The North African country traveled to The Hague, Netherlands, to perform Bitaqat Hub, translated as Love Card, by Samira Bensaïd.

Moroccan broadcaster 2M TV has expressed interest in re-entering the competition in recent years.

So far, there has been no news from the broadcaster or Eurovision about future Moroccan involvement.


One of the most recognizable non-European countries participating in Eurovision is Australia.

After starring in 2015 with Guy Sebastian’s Tonight Again, they’ve joined a total of six times.

They return again in 2022 with Sheldon Riley’s Not The Same, proving that the nation is now the mainstay of the show.

Riley won Australia’s Eurovision – Australia Decides and is now heading to Turin in Italy for the semi-finals.

Will Canada join in 2023?

Canada will not participate in the main program


Nice pictures)

EBU has just announced Eurovision Canada, a North American country-only spin-off competition.

Beginning in 2023, artists from 10 Canadian provinces and territories will compete for the top prize.

The EBU stated, “The format will pit artists against other province/territory representatives in a series of televised Qualifying Competitions, leading to the Final Semifinals and Finals.”

Canada will not participate in the main competition.

In fact, there are more Eurovision swings than could be imagined, including the Eurovision Young Musicians and the Eurovision Teen Song Contest.

There have also been rumors of an American Song contest, although this has not been confirmed.

Read more

Read more

https://www.mirror.co.uk/tv/tv-news/non-european-countries-go-eurovision-26809254 Which non-European countries use Eurovision and why are they allowed?

Fry Electronics Team

Fry Electronics.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@fry-electronics.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button