You must turn on WhatsApp’s privacy features NOW to protect texts, tech expert warns

A TIKTOK tech guru urges WhatsApp users to protect their messages from snoopers.

In a recent video, user @letsdodiz showed how to block conversations in the app behind a face recognition or fingerprint scan on iPhone.

TikTok user @letsdodiz shares handy tech tips with his followers

1

TikTok user @letsdodiz shares handy tech tips with his followersPhoto credit: Tiktok

This means your chats are protected from prying eyes even when your iPhone is unlocked.

To set this up, go to your WhatsApp settings by opening the app and clicking the gear icon in the bottom right corner of your display.

Beat Account > privacy > screen lock. From here you can turn on either Touch ID or Face ID.

You can also select the minimum amount of time you want to elapse before your biometric ID is required again.

WhatsApp is planning a new
WhatsApp is making a HUGE change to one of its best features... but some may hate it

Now when you open WhatsApp, you will be asked for your fingerprints or a scan of your face to access your chats.

This means if you hand someone your phone, you can be sure that they are not secretly spying on your chats.

However, it’s still possible to read and quickly reply to messages in your device’s notification window, so the tool isn’t foolproof.

To really lock your iPhone, you can turn off all message previews in your device settings at any time.

Whether you have the option to lock your chats behind Face ID or Touch ID depends on the iPhone model you are using.

Face ID is available on every model after the 2017 iPhone X, while the models before it use Touch ID.

Letsdodiz also showed his 2 million TikTok followers how to hide their WhatsApp “last seen” status.

“Last Seen” is the timestamp displayed on your WhatsApp profile and chats to show when you last opened the app.

It is possible to hide it in your WhatsApp settings so no one can see when you are texting.

Users can choose whether Last Seen was visible to everyone, my contacts, or nobody.

Choosing “Nobody” means you can’t see other people’s timestamp, while your last seen entry is hidden from everyone.

WhatsApp had previously set the default option to Everyone. It is now set to My Contacts by default.

To change it, open the WhatsApp app and go to settings > Account > privacy > Last seen.

The best tips and hacks for phones and gadgets

blank

Looking for tips and hacks for your phone? Want to find these secret features in social media apps? We’ve got you covered…

Get the latest news about WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook and other tech gadgets here.


We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science Team? Email us at tech@the-sun.co.uk


https://www.thesun.ie/tech/9138297/whatsapp-users-urged-turn-on-privacy-feature-2/ You must turn on WhatsApp’s privacy features NOW to protect texts, tech expert warns

Fry Electronics Team

Fry Electronics.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@fry-electronics.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button